Italy Packing List for Fall

I love Italy, it is one of my favorite places in the whole world. So when it came to deciding where I would go to use up my last week of vacation days from work, Italy was the easy choice.

As I was researching packing lists for this trip I found that the majority of lists that were out there were specifically for Italy in summer. Summer in Italy is hot–pavement melting hot–and you need to dress accordingly while still taking into account comfort and rules for modest dress that you need to observe to enter many churches. But I was going to be there in November and I wasn’t sure what to expect weather wise. I had been there in July and I had been there in mid February, so I could only look at the weather report and guess.

**Note: The weather report ended up being totally wrong! They said 18 Celsius, it was more like 12!**

This was what I brought for 9 days traveling through Rome, Florence, and Venice:

  • 2 t-shirt
  • 3 tank tops for layering
  • 2 sweaters
  • 1 plaid button up shirt (I’m Canadian, can’t leave home without it!)
  • 1 pair of jeans
  • 3 pairs of tights
  • 1 maxi skirt
  • 1 nice shirt for going out
  • 2 every day dress
  • 3 bras and enough socks and panties to last the duration of the trip
  • 2 pairs of boots–1 pair was over the knee black leather, and the other short grey leather
  • 1 pair of ballet flats–worked good for dressing up and to wear as slippers around the hotel
  • 1 jacket, leather
  • 2 scarves–1 winter weight, 1 summer weight
12066001_945906608827722_2262196885320381393_n

I’m on the far left end in my maxi skirt and leather jacket. Super comfortable, but maybe not the best choice for taking funny photos with the tower!

My best advice when choosing clothes for Italy is to go for classic lines and solid colours–this will look effortlessly elegant while standing up well to travel wear and tear. If you want to splash out, there are many cute winter accessories that you can add for colour as well as practicality. That’s the reason I brought two scarfs and ended up buy one more while on trip. One can never have too many scarfs and who can say no to a scarf from Italy! Remember, you will be walking–often over cobble stone–for the majority of you day, comfort is going to be key. Flat boots, rather than high heels, are definitely the order of the day.

There really is no need to dress up much, unless you know you are going to somewhere really fancy, like the opera or an expensive restaurant. Most bars and clubs are fairly casual, so clean dark jeans and a nice top are all you really need. When in doubt, add red lipstick, it will always make you outfit more fancy.

12274757_10156291771055385_8940902076603442475_n

My leather jacket was perfect for the weather we encountered. Not too heavy when it was sunny, but with the right layers it was warm enough when the weather got cool. 

For a 9 day trip, this packing list end up being more that enough clothes. In fact I probably could have left one pair of tights and one of the dresses at home. I wore everything once, but more out of a want to wear each of the outfits that I had brought rather than just going with what was most comfortable. Perhaps it would have been different if the weather was actually as hot as the weather report said it would be.

All in all, I found this packing list to comfortable, versatile, and most importantly it packed small enough that I could fly carry on only! I never felt over or under dressed, and I could adapt it easily to whatever the weather threw at me.

